I have questions about scraping?

Discussions about scrap yards, scrap yard prices, melting, refining, and obtaining metals from scrap or unconventional sources.

I have questions about scraping?

Postby chris819 » Sun Oct 10, 2010 2:26 pm

Hi i am new to scraping and i have some questions.
I was wondering if stainless steel can be scraped and for how much? I find alot of spoons and plates that are stainless steel.
Also can i scrap brass and how does that go for?
Also is it worth keeping copper and silver plated stuff?
Also should i keep tin cans and how much do they go for?
Thanks for your help Chris.
chris819
Penny Sorter Member

Re: I have questions about scraping?

Postby hobo finds » Sun Oct 10, 2010 5:41 pm

chris819 wrote:Hi i am new to scraping and i have some questions.
I was wondering if stainless steel can be scraped and for how much? I find alot of spoons and plates that are stainless steel.
Also can i scrap brass and how does that go for?
Also is it worth keeping copper and silver plated stuff?
Also should i keep tin cans and how much do they go for?
Thanks for your help Chris.

Stainless steel by me is getting .55 a pound for non magnetic stainless
Brass 1.50 lb
Copper 2.55 lb
Steel .07 lb
hobo finds
Too Busy Posting to Hoard Anything Else

Postby wayne1956 » Sun Oct 10, 2010 6:58 pm

Most of the spoons and plates labeled stainless steel will be magnetic and not worth any more than regular steel. Non magnetic is worth much more. Tin cans can go in with the rest of your steel load and all they are is coated steel. Basically separate your metals into ferrous and non ferrous piles. Keep all of your different non-ferrous types of metals (brass, copper, aluminum, lead) separated, as they are worth much more than ferrous, and each of them should be kept separated, as copper is going for around 3.00 a pound right now, and aluminum is around 60 cents a pound, etc.
wayne1956
Penny Pincher Member

Postby theirrationalist » Thu Oct 21, 2010 5:20 pm