Colonial/early US coins

This forum is for the discussion of USA coin and paper money collecting that is unrelated to saving bulk Copper Bullion Penny, Nickel & CuNi Bullion Nickel, or Silver Coins for metal content. Feel free to post scheduled coins shows.

Colonial/early US coins

Postby RickS » Sun Oct 10, 2010 10:12 am

So, as some of you know, I'm new to this hobby. (as in....weeks).

What books/resources would you recommend for someone interested in very early US coins? From a date perspective, Civil War and prior have interest to me due to the time period and what was going on in our country.

Appreciate any pointers. Thanks!

-Rick
RickS
Penny Sorter Member

Re: Colonial/early US coins

Postby george454 » Sun Oct 10, 2010 7:58 pm

If you are going to collect the coins from that error the most important thing is to accurately grade them. Just get a feel for the grading system, practice on pocket change there are many intricacies to grading, the most important is try not to over-grade them. This is one of my favorite books I use for this, I have no tie to the ebay listing so please don,t feel you need to order it from this link. This was just the quickest link I could find. Remember most coins you will find are over graded and often overpriced so knowing how to accurately grade then will help eliminate over paying on these coins. Once you know the grade then the average Red Book price guide will suffice. I generally try and take 10-15% off their prices though, they seem to be a little inflated.

There are also several good topics on this board, and don't be scared to ask of others opinion on here. You may also post something in the want to buy section many members have some good collections and often at a price that is unbeatable.

Link:
http://cgi.ebay.com/NUMISMATIC-GRADING- ... 3f03c57c09
george454
Penny Collector Member

Postby bman » Sun Oct 10, 2010 8:12 pm

This book is a little pricey but it's a great resource for early U.S. coins: