Shipping Pennies the Proper Way

Forum for discussing any topic related to investing in, collecting and saving US, Canadian, UK, and other Copper Bullion Pennies for their metal content.

Shipping Pennies the Proper Way

Postby HoardCopperByTheTon » Mon Sep 13, 2010 8:34 pm

Someday you may sell some of your pennies. If you do you will want to ship them safely. I have heard some horror stories about penny shipments busting open during shipment. I would hate for that to happen to any of our forum members. I thought I would share some shipping tips here. Hopefully others can share some ideas as well.

If the shipment gets damaged in transit it is bad for both the buyer and seller. I have been shipping large quantities of pennies for several years. I shipped about 2 tons last year. I once shipped an entire mint sewn bag in what is now a $4.60 Flat Rate envelope.. it was $3.20 back then. The mistake most people make is not properly reinforcing the box. Assume the post office is going to bounce this box a few times. They sometimes abuse heavy flat rate boxes. First, you need lots of the good 3M tape. Costco is usually the best place to get that. You run 5 stips long ways across the bottom.. then 5 strips crossways to that.. going to about the middle of the outside of the box on each end.