Who rolled those rolls?... and does it matter?

Forum for discussing any topic related to investing in, collecting and saving US, Canadian, UK, and other Copper Bullion Pennies for their metal content.

Who rolled those rolls?... and does it matter?

Postby Pennybug » Fri Jan 07, 2011 3:11 pm

Noob here... :oops:

Just found this blog and I'm new to it... but I think this may be of interest to some of us who know the value of what we are doing!... then again... it may have already been posted or may simply be common knowledge. As I said... I'm a noob here!

Anyhow... I've been looking at the difference between banks that only take loose change and then roll their own coins vs. banks that "buy/exchange" customers rolls and I've found some interesting finds and helpful hints (although I plan on looking into this in more detail soon):

1) There seems to be a slightly better percentage of Cu in customer rolled rolls as opposed to bank rolled rolls. I've found a few percentage points higer. I'm going to do some stats on this later this year... so this is more of a hunch right now than anything (since I can't verify if I am statistically correct in saying this... and yes... I am an Engineer so statistics are IMPORTANT to me when making claims). Anyhow... I believe this is likely due to the fact that these rolls have likely sat around in jars for many years and then traded into the bank for cash. This means that these rolls contained the Cu ratio of earlier years as opposed to real time ratios. Think about it... each year more Cu is taken out (by smart folks like us) and more zinc put in by the Feds into circulation. This means that the percentage of Cu is decreased annually. Therefore a bank customers penny roll should contain higher percentages than an average bank rolled roll since it contians the Cu percentage of previous years in it. The morale of this... the older the roll you can get... the more Cu it should contain! More on this in the future...