Storing Copper Pennies

Forum for discussing any topic related to investing in, collecting and saving US, Canadian, UK, and other Copper Bullion Pennies for their metal content.

Storing Copper Pennies

Postby Shazbot57 » Sun Mar 02, 2014 4:28 pm

I'm new to sorting but recently sorted 17 boxes of pennies plus the original 8 boxes and now have $175+ FV (110+ pounds) plus a cereal bowl of wheats and about 8 pounds Ugly Abe/green gunk coppers (stored separately) in a combination of older 1/2 gallon glass mayo jars, brinks boxes, and #2 HDPE Coffee jugs. I also have 3- 32.5 lb (approx 3 gal) #2 HDPE laundry detergent buckets available for use(I really like these because they have flat bottoms). I also have started working on getting one gallon mayo/dressing #2 HDPE jars from a local supermarket.

I've tried to read a lot of the blog posts about storage re: pvc in plastic buckets, canvas bags, 5 gal buckets (#2 HDPE), boxes, etc. I realize it's all personal preference and materials availability. I have a cool dry (dehumidified) basement for storage.

So my question is: Is there any type of container I should or should not use like glass, etc. for storage?
Last edited by Shazbot57 on Sun Mar 02, 2014 5:28 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Shazbot57
Penny Collector Member

Re: Storing Copper Pennies

Postby baggerman » Sun Mar 02, 2014 5:03 pm

I wrap mine and put them back in the original penny boxes or store them in ammo cans when I don't have any boxes handy. This way they are small enough that I don't strain a nut trying to move them and by being wrapped in penny wrappers (I get them free from the bank) I can count how much I have or count them out for sale pretty quickly.
baggerman
Penny Hoarding Member

Postby reddirtcoins » Sun Mar 02, 2014 5:13 pm