Question about pulling copper from circulation..

Forum for discussing any topic related to investing in, collecting and saving US, Canadian, UK, and other Copper Bullion Pennies for their metal content.

Question about pulling copper from circulation..

Postby Diggin4copper » Tue Feb 01, 2011 8:38 pm

Im new to the game, and I have a question or two that maybe someone has thought about before.. I understand that the Canadian mint pulls good nickles from circulation and replaces them with steel nickles, presumably reaping the profit. How long has that been going on? Does the fact that the US Mint is one step away from the circulating money supply (Going thru the Fed) keep them from doing the same here for pennies? Just curious to what the forum thinks.. Thanks! Diggin
Diggin4copper
1000+ Penny Miser Member

Re: Question about pulling copper from circulation..

Postby Copper Catcher » Tue Feb 01, 2011 9:10 pm

Welcome to the discussion....

CANADIAN COIN NEWS - volume 43, number 2 - May 17 - 30, 2005 says the RCM has begun taking nickel coins from circulation, defacing them and selling them as scrap. Pre-2001 10 and 25 cent coins are first on the list even if they are not worn out. Aka Royal Canadian Mints ARP (Alloy Recovery Program)

http://journal.brinksinc.com/?id=journalissue11&page=4

http://www.mint.ca/store/dyn/PDFs/RCMCorpPlan2008.pdf

The topic has been talked about a little:
viewtopic.php?f=7&t=611&p=4254&hilit=royal+canadian+mint+reclamation+program#p4254

Below the melt ban there was a company called Jackson Metals that was trying to cash in.
You can Google the name to get the entire story.
Copper Catcher
Too Busy Posting to Hoard Anything Else

Postby misteroman » Wed Feb 02, 2011 10:08 am

is it really worth it for them to go through all that work for the dimes metal?
misteroman

Postby HoardCopperByTheTon » Sat Feb 05, 2011 2:58 am

misteroman wrote:is it really worth it for them to go through all that work for the dimes metal?