Dumping penalties, fees, and times for deposits

Forum for discussing any topic related to investing in, collecting and saving US, Canadian, UK, and other Copper Bullion Pennies for their metal content.

Dumping penalties, fees, and times for deposits

Postby fusscharles » Mon Mar 14, 2011 9:08 pm

So, Im starting to dump in plastic bags. i am brand new to the process and my dump bank is wachovia. So I dumped a $50 bag, and I see they have not credited my account. Now, Id like to take more bags, but I want to see how this first run posts to my account.

My questions are-(1) is there a limit to how many bags I can dump in this fashion without paying for some sort of "counting or handling fee" (2) is there a penalty if I am always off by a few cents (over and under) (3) how long, on average, until the bank credits my account?

Thanks for the help!
fusscharles
Penny Pincher Member

Re: Dumping penalties, fees, and times for deposits

Postby mauk13r » Wed Mar 16, 2011 9:35 am

Chase credits my account on the spot as cash.
mauk13r
Penny Pincher Member

Postby misteroman » Wed Mar 16, 2011 9:50 am

dang no chase or wachovia in my area
misteroman
Too Busy Posting to Hoard Anything Else

Postby PennyPauper » Wed Mar 16, 2011 12:11 pm

I just started at M&T and was credited then. Was told there could be adjustments made after counting.Guess I will find out this week if any are made. I have a "in" so no fees as of yet. Took $600 on my first run.Going to try another 5-600 on Friday.
I think I'll try Wachovia before they make the switch here to WF. From the conversations here 5% is a fee for counting large amounts that I would be willing to pay if needed. It would be much easier then hitting several dump banks per week.Especially with gas prices rising.
I don't know about penalty's for being over or under but,counted out 5000 then weighed them,using 27.85lbs as the norm.
Added a few extra to be sure I wasn't under.
PennyPauper
Penny Hoarding Member