Buying Copper Bullion

Forum for discussing any topic related to investing in, collecting and saving US, Canadian, UK, and other Copper Bullion Pennies for their metal content.

Buying Copper Bullion

Postby krncoolwater » Sat Sep 25, 2010 4:51 pm

Hi there,

Im new to the PM scene and recently got into collecting silver bullion and learned one of my co-worker bought silver around $4/oz (hoping for the same outcome on copper) now silver is at about 21/oz!! i can purchase silver rounds for 2-3 over spot but copper costs about 3.5/lb and are selling for 2-3 X's over spot! I.E. MH 10+ Ounce .999 Fine Copper Ingotn Brand: Market Harmony LLC $16.50, NMS 1 Pound Copper Bar - 2010 Liberty Head Brand: Nashville Metal Supply $9.75, CMC 10 Troy Ounce Copper Bar - Maple Brand: Central Metal Corp $14.95

Why does it seem that the copper premiums are almost double or triple the spot price of copper?

I would like to start a copper bullion collection and would like to hear any insights or comments as this seems like the place to go PM investing, thanks in advance...
krncoolwater

Re: Buying Copper Bullion

Postby Spikeanator6982 » Sat Sep 25, 2010 5:45 pm

from what I have read, copper bullion .999 fine is over spot for a few reasons. Mainly copper is dealt in tons at a time. so the spot price by the pound is for someone buying thousands of pounds at once. Also, .999 copper bullion is a niche market. I also believe copper is harder to work with, and purify to .999 than silver and gold.
Spikeanator6982
Penny Collector Member

Postby Delawhere Jack » Sat Sep 25, 2010 6:08 pm

Cool Water, Welcome. The premium is primarily due to novelty - production costs - profits. The items you mention are sold as collectibles or conversation pieces. Pennies however still cost 1 cent.
I've gone Galt. Obama and all the other commie's can kiss my a....
Delawhere Jack
Post Hoarder

Postby Hawkeye » Sat Sep 25, 2010 8:04 pm