Any Numismatic Books for Children?

This forum is for the discussion of USA coin and paper money collecting that is unrelated to saving bulk Copper Bullion Penny, Nickel & CuNi Bullion Nickel, or Silver Coins for metal content. Feel free to post scheduled coins shows.

Any Numismatic Books for Children?

Postby Doctor Steuss » Wed Dec 21, 2011 10:48 am

My nephew is really into coin collecting (in fact, last night his dad told me that coins were the #1 thing on his Christmas list). I'd like to continue to do what I can to help cultivate his love of coins and help this next generation collector carry the torch of the hobby (I've been giving him coins for about 2 years, but I'm thinking it's time for a book). I would just give him one of my old Red Books, but since he's 9 years old, I'm guessing standard coin collecting books would probably not be the best thing.

Are there any coin collecting books out there that are meant for younger readers? He’s a sharp kid, so it doesn’t need to be for 9 or under (12 or under would probably be ok).

Thanks for your help,
Stu
"Deferential, glad to be of use, Politic, cautious, and meticulous; Full of high sentence, but a bit obtuse; At times, indeed, almost ridiculous— Almost, at times, the Fool." ~Eliot
Doctor Steuss
1000+ Penny Miser Member

Re: Any Numismatic Books for Children?

Postby Rodebaugh » Wed Dec 21, 2011 10:52 am

Stu......put a red book into that boys hands. Kids will suprise you brother with what they know and pick up on easily. Not to mention, late editions are super nice with full color photographs and a little about each coin. It's high time the boy learns to look at a coin....pick up a red book.....and find it hidden in it's pages.

We'll get him VAMing morgans by the time he's 15yo. :P
This space for rent. :)
Rodebaugh
Realcent Moderator

Postby Rodebaugh » Wed Dec 21, 2011 11:01 am

Another good idea.......A box of pennies and a blue LMC whitman pennie board. Let the kid play some bingo.