What If Nothing Happens?

A forum for the discussion of stocking up on non-coin or non-metals survival and comfort items, skills, ideas and anything else that might help if things get bad. Post item lists, where to find bargains, storage ideas and security issues/ideas, and other relevant topics.

What If Nothing Happens?

Postby Redneck » Thu Mar 29, 2012 8:55 pm

Redneck
1000+ Penny Miser Member

Re: What If Nothing Happens?

Postby SilverEye » Fri Mar 30, 2012 3:51 pm

I talked about this exactly on some prepper sites I'm on. Skillsets are the most important thing to prep.

I'm an excellent shot, but I have never skinned and cleaned wild game (or any mammal for that matter).

I'm very mechanical, and superior at rigging things together with not-quite-right parts on hand. But I'm a terrible farmer, I got less then a half pound of edible food out of my garden last season.

I have been getting very good at mental math to be able to tell if certain coins are a good deal for my dollar, but not very good at self-promotion. Which will be vital for a guy like me who can do some things great, and simply cannot do other things at all. I need to be able to barter and trade my skills for your skills if SHTF. Stuff like "I can fix your tractor today, if you feed me and my family tomorrow."
SilverEye
Penny Collector Member

Postby beauanderos » Fri Mar 30, 2012 4:51 pm

I think just importantly it's vital to consider community outreach as a critical part of prepping. If you are by yourself, now is the time to be networking and forming groups, not trying to lone dog it if TEOTWAWKI happens. As far as if nothing happens, well way too good then. Does any survivalist actually pray for TSHTF just to prove their own wisdom in prepping? Just so they can gloat "I told you so?" I think everyone would prefer to live in a stable world, but unfortunately... we don't have that choice.
The Hand of God moves WorldsImage
beauanderos
Too Busy Posting to Hoard Anything Else