Melt Value

Forum for discussing any topic related to investing in, collecting and saving US, Canadian, UK, and other Copper Bullion Pennies for their metal content.

Melt Value

Postby adagirl » Tue Oct 05, 2010 6:03 pm

Out of curiosity, lets assume that melting pennies and nickels is legal. Coinflation does an excellent job of telling us what the value of the metal content of particular coins are valued at. Looking at the 95% copper penny or 75% copper nickel, is there really a process that seperates out the copper from the nickel when melted? If so, how costly is this process? Who performs such a service? Again assuming this was legal, is the melting of coins for the metal content something one could do their own? I am a rookie at coin collecting, I am really curious as to how this works (if it does), and I am trying to justify my newly adopted hoarding behavior.
adagirl
Penny Collector Member

Re: Melt Value

Postby mcsusanquilts » Tue Oct 05, 2010 6:20 pm

There are businesses that deal with collecting metals for melting. There are also middlemen. (businesses that collect metal and turn it in to business that melt metal for a small profit). All we would have to do is part with our coins. That would be difficult because the more people who destroy their money; the higher the value of what is left. Therefore a shortage is created. No more hoarding!!! :!: :lol:
mcsusanquilts

Postby adagirl » Tue Oct 05, 2010 7:26 pm