Help me put this into perspective

Forum for discussing any topic related to investing in, collecting and saving US, Canadian, UK, and other Copper Bullion Pennies for their metal content.

Help me put this into perspective

Postby atticus » Fri Jan 13, 2012 6:18 pm

Hi all,

I'm a newbie to all of this so bear with me. I started sorting recently due to finding an IH and a few wheats while going through my daily cash out at our restaurant. This has progressed, of course, to a full on addiction. haha.

I'm curious to put this into some perspective. How long after the silver coin ban did they lift it? My first inclination was to just sort and sell, but the more I read, the more intrigued that I am. I still find it hard to believe that I'll see the end of the cent in my lifetime, but then again, I do see a lot more credit card usage at our little place and can sort of logic it out from there, but...

Can someone talk me through the fundamentals on this? Ultimately, I'm still going to do it, because it takes my mind off the every day humdrum, so I'm not going to just sell my personal stash if no one responds, but I'd like to see what the argument is for doing it beyond that.

If it's easier, message me.

Thanks in advance,
Atticus
atticus
Penny Sorter Member

Re: Help me put this into perspective

Postby 68Camaro » Fri Jan 13, 2012 7:09 pm

There are many simliar threads on this same topic, if you go look at the archives of the copper forum. To recap quickly in my words, I think there are three camps (and some people with a foot and a hand in each). There are those who hoard copper cents for the purpose of eventual sale to those who would melt it (salvage) after the melt ban is lifted. There are those who hoard copper for the sense it makes as a intrinsic value base coin in some future SHTF scenario. And there is the camp of those who simply sort and flip at a discount in the moment to those others of either of the first two camps who are willing to buy now.