The laws

Forum for discussing any topic related to investing in, collecting and saving US, Canadian, UK, and other Copper Bullion Pennies for their metal content.

The laws

Postby iatetacos » Fri May 25, 2012 11:16 am

So if I remember this correctly, it's legal for me to deface pennies as long as I'm not trying to make them look like they are more money right? Also I'm not allowed to melt them. If I were to run the pennies through a metal shredder for "easier storage" would this be legal? After this point let's hypothetically say I left it in a storage container and they auctioned it off and the person had no idea the. Copper pulp was pennies. Would they be in trouble for unknowingly scrapping them?
iatetacos
Penny Pincher Member

Re: The laws

Postby Copper Catcher » Fri May 25, 2012 11:43 am

I am not a lawyer and I do not play one on TV....

Your quote: If I were to run the pennies through a metal shredder for "easier storage" would this be legal? Think about this for a second... Your intent is clear the moment you shredded the coins. I think every DA in the country would conclude that you have committed a crime in doing so.

"Whoever fraudulently alters, defaces, mutilates, impairs, diminishes, falsifies, scales, or lightens any of the coins coined at the mints of the United States, or any foreign coins which are by law made current or are in actual use or circulation as money within the United States; or whoever fraudulently possesses, passes, utters, publishes, or sells, or attempts to pass, utter, publish, or sell, or brings into the United States, any such coin, knowing the same to be altered, defaced, mutilated, impaired, diminished, falsified, scaled, or lightened- Shall be fined under this title or imprisoned not more than five years, or both."