Japanese TV news segment on penny investing

Forum for discussing any topic related to investing in, collecting and saving US, Canadian, UK, and other Copper Bullion Pennies for their metal content.

Japanese TV news segment on penny investing

Postby TVTokyo » Tue May 28, 2013 12:29 pm

I am a producer at TV Tokyo, one of Japan’s largest TV networks. We are doing a TV news segment on the possible elimination of penny minting in the US since Japan eyes the usefulness and cost of its own 1 yen coin in a similar light.

I understand that there is a number of penny bullion investors in this community and I wanted to reach out. I was hoping to get in touch with some of you who might be interested in participating in our news story.

I am looking for someone who is collecting large amounts of pre 1982 copper pennies for their value as bullion investment. I would like to film and interview this person on their penny collecting practice - things like why, how, and what the future fate of the penny looks like. We would also like to film the collection of pennies.

This news segment would be part of TV Tokyo’s daily morning business news program, Morning Satellite. If you wish to take a look at some of our previous segments from the US, please find them here (Japanese language):
http://www.tv-tokyo.co.jp/mv/nms/ny/post_41514/ (Cybersecurity)
http://www.tv-tokyo.co.jp/mv/nms/ny/post_38367/ (Online education)

I am very aware that this request might be difficult to accommodate given the nature of the bullion’s value, but I want to emphasize that we are prepared to adhere to any filming restrictions or security guidelines that you may have.

I think that as we explore the possibility of penny elimination in the US, investing in its copper content is a fascinating aspect of this story. I am very excited about making a great news piece.

If you or someone you know is up for interviewing with us, please contact me at the following:

Ryan McCune
ryan@tv-tokyo-america.com