¢ Hoarding Zincolns? ¢

Forum for discussing any topic related to investing in, collecting and saving US, Canadian, UK, and other Copper Bullion Pennies for their metal content.

¢ Hoarding Zincolns? ¢

Postby zKott » Thu Jun 06, 2013 11:36 am

I must start off by stating that this is my first post. I am a newbie to this forum.

I am relatively new to this copper / Nickel sport as well. I began this journey interested mainly in Silver but recently have become more drawn to and attracted to Copper and Nickel. I am up to about 70 unopened boxes of Nickels and about 400 lbs of copper pennies. (50 of which are wheaties)

My short term goal is 100 boxes of Nickels and 1000lbs of pennies. Should be accomplished in the next few months.

Anyway, to make a long story short, my wife works at the bank so it is quite easy to get my unopened boxes of Nickels and Pennies each week.

Last week, she managed to bring home two boxes of 2013 BU Shield Pennies.

At first I was disappointed at the thought that there is absolutely no copper in these boxes. But then I got to thinking, when they quit making pennies, what kind of a Numi value will the Zincolns have after it is all said and done. (Especially two full boxes of untouched BU zincers!)

I realize that there is no metal value of these boxes, so it would all be based on numi value. But what do you guys think about BU Zincers?

Would you stack boxes of BU's or would you take them back to the bank?

Do you think that average circulation zincers will be worth numi value after there are no more and the U.S. turns into Australia, New Zealand and Canada?
...or do you think it would take a hundred years and even then a zincoln would only be worth an insignificant value, exacerbated by years of inflation etc etc ...?
zKott

Re: ¢ Hoarding Zincolns? ¢

Postby creshka46 » Thu Jun 06, 2013 12:46 pm

My advice would be to put the 2013's up on ebay and see if anyone takes them. If they don't sell then return them.