Does anybody do this as a business or a job?

Forum for discussing any topic related to investing in, collecting and saving US, Canadian, UK, and other Copper Bullion Pennies for their metal content.

Does anybody do this as a business or a job?

Postby SkinsFan0521 » Sun Feb 20, 2011 10:00 pm

I'm a newbie here, but I've been following the idea of copper penny sorting for about a year now...

I'm just wondering if anybody on here does this full time as a business? I know that the portlandmint.com guy (sorry, don't know his username) is on here and that's obviously a business, but I was wondering if there was anybody else?

I'm thinking of getting into the copper sorting pretty big time and was just wondering if anybody else has experience with it? I've spent the past several years selling various PMs as a side business, but I'm thinking of taking this a bit further. If any of you do have experience in large-scale penny sorting, I'd love to hear about your experiences and tips!

The one thing that I'm waiting to find out is about the possibility of ordering /depositing directly to/from Brinks or Loomis. I know that it's possible, but I have no idea about the fees and the details about all of it. One of the big questions (besides the fees of course) is about if it's "safe" to deposit/withdraw from the same company? Is it the same as needing a buy bank and a dump bank or doesn't it matter? I've read online (not anything official, just read it somewhere) that when Brinks gets change sent to them, they just send it directly out to the regional FED bank. If that's true, that would eliminate the possibility of me getting back my coins that I just sorted because they'd be making the trip back to the fed and not just being re-packaged and sent back to me next week. Anybody have any knowledge on how this process works?

Thanks in advance for any help or tips that you may have!!
SkinsFan0521

Re: Does anybody do this as a business or a job?