storing copper

Forum for discussing any topic related to investing in, collecting and saving US, Canadian, UK, and other Copper Bullion Pennies for their metal content.

storing copper

Postby cb350f » Wed Sep 29, 2010 11:20 am

Hi guys, I'm a newbie. How do you guys store your copper cents? Do you roll them so that you know how many you have, or just throw them in a can?
thanks
cb350f

Re: storing copper

Postby aristobolus » Wed Sep 29, 2010 12:23 pm

Welcome. I store them either in twenty five dollar boxes (the ones they often come in from the bank), old sewn mint bags (increasingly hard to obtain at bank-I guess you can use the newer, plastic ones), or five gallon water containers (you can get them from water supply businesses- ask for "leakers" [these have small, insignificant cracks, holes, or usually I can't even see the imperfection] and they will either give them to you for free, or at a nominal charge.
aristobolus
Penny Collector Member

Postby MO-SILVER! » Wed Sep 29, 2010 12:48 pm

I roll my copper cents and keep them in coffee cans. I keep my nickels in a locked drawer. I like keeping them rolled because you can inventory them easier.
Formerly spartan_b88 on old forum.

"For what profit is it to a man if he gains the whole world, and loses his own soul?" Matthew 16:26
MO-SILVER!
Penny Pincher Member

Postby fasteddy » Wed Sep 29, 2010 3:23 pm

get a open head barrel(drum) and toss 'em in....a "barrel o pennies" be sure to put it somewhere so you will not have to move it later...it maybe a bit heavy.
fasteddy
Post Hoarder

Postby Joogaler » Wed Sep 29, 2010 3:37 pm

fasteddy wrote:get a open head barrel(drum) and toss 'em in....a "barrel o pennies" be sure to put it somewhere so you will not have to move it later...it maybe a bit heavy.

This also makes them harder to steal! Can't steal it if you can't move it!

Visit my E-Store for copper penny bullion!
http://jooglerbullion.ecrater.com/
Joogaler
Penny Collector Member