What do I tell my pickup banks?

Forum for discussing any topic related to investing in, collecting and saving US, Canadian, UK, and other Copper Bullion Pennies for their metal content.

What do I tell my pickup banks?

Postby gilpo » Sat Jul 02, 2011 11:03 pm

Tried searching but no luck on results.

I'm just getting started and I'm trying to establish my pickup banks. I have secured 2 dumps. I've been grabbing a box from every bank I see to test the waters. So far I've identified 3 different 'suppliers' to local banks. One of the three has consistently higher copper percentage. The problem I'm facing is the dreaded 'why do you need so many pennies?' as I wait for my one (1) box to be retrieved from the vault. Lol. I don't lie so Ive been trying to just dodge the question but it's getting old. I also get asked what store or business I'm with.

I don't really want to tell them about my hobby but I'm at a loss of what to say without lying. The area I'm hitting is pretty affluent so i feel like a fish out of water in these banks. I do have an account at one of these chain banks and i hit 4 of their branches on the drive home. The rest I dont and I've never been asked, however I've only grabbed a box at a time just to test them out. However, I'd like to soon start going bigger with a few of the good ones.

Any advice?
gilpo

Re: What do I tell my pickup banks?

Postby Morsecode » Sun Jul 03, 2011 12:11 am

Tell them you're with realcent.org (try to maintain a straight face)

Seriously, if they're already asking what store or business you're with over a single box of coin you can expect to be shut off sooner than later. Is it a commercial bank?

As you say, you're testing the waters, which is how most of us started out. Concentrate your efforts on the branches with the "don't ask, don't tell" policy, which will provide you with coin to sort while you continue to expand your database of friendly suppliers.
Let's Go Brandon
Morsecode