A question of weight

Forum for discussing any topic related to investing in, collecting and saving US, Canadian, UK, and other Copper Bullion Pennies for their metal content.

A question of weight

Postby balz » Mon Aug 29, 2011 1:38 pm

Hi there,

I'm slowly building my stack; so far nearly 20 boxes (I reroll the pennies because I think it looks cool and will be more easy to trade after SHTF). 20 boxes at about 14-14.5 pounds = over 280 pounds so far.

This may look like a very stupid question, but I live in an apartment all built with wood. I wonder if there could be any danger stacking too many of those boxes at the same place. I mean: I do about 4 boxes a week; in a year that's over 200 boxes and 2,800 pounds!

BTW, as I am a newbie, I was wondering what do you guys think is a good stack to prepare for future economic collapse?

(Sorry I know I write poorly.)
balz
Penny Collector Member

Re: A question of weight

Postby shinnosuke » Mon Aug 29, 2011 2:16 pm

There's no problem with your writing. I'm glad you joined realcent and hope you get your questions answered.

Are you on the 2nd floor or higher? If so, you might want to spread out the weight...some under the bed, some in the bottom of the closet, etc...when you approach the 1000 pound mark.

As for the appropriate size of your stack, there are so many variables to consider.
* Are you single/married?
* Do you have children?
* Do you plan to get married or have children within the next 2 years?
* Do you have family (with whom you get along) living nearby?
* Have you completed other preparations such as food, water, firearms, ammo?
* And so on...
When in the Course of human events it becomes necessary for one people to dissolve the political bands which have connected them with another and to assume among the powers of the earth, the separate and equal station to which the Laws of Nature and of Nature's God entitle them... (Thomas Jefferson)
shinnosuke
Super Post Hoarder