What is your end game?

Forum for discussing any topic related to investing in, collecting and saving US, Canadian, UK, and other Copper Bullion Pennies for their metal content.

What is your end game?

Postby Rejinx » Fri Nov 25, 2011 1:17 am

I am new to this hobby, so you may have discussed this before. When the melt ban ends in, lets guess 3 years, and lets guess a melt value of 3 cents per penny. What is your end game? Do you sell your pennies to a person who melts? Do you try to melt? Or do you hold for the long haul?
What I learned here:
A penny saved is a penny earned, 145 pennies saved is a pound.
Rejinx

Re: What is your end game?

Postby joemac » Fri Nov 25, 2011 8:33 am

Well they are almost worth three cents now, they will be worth much more in the future. Personally I am holding and may sell to someone looking to invest in hard assets. Similar to what people have done with junk silver. If the dollar fails, I'd suspect they will be worth quite a bit more than what they are now. I'm hoping 10x face. Hey, we're allowed to dream right?
joemac
Penny Sorter Member

Postby Hawkeye » Fri Nov 25, 2011 9:59 am

I doubt if I would ever just sell them as scrap unless I was desperate. I am holding them as a hard money asset, as I also think they will be traded as such in the future. I could be wrong about that, and, if I am, I will probably pass them on to the next generation. Worst case scenario - I cash them in for face value. (which is really not a bad worst case scenario)
Metal > Paper
Hawkeye
Penny Hoarding Member

Postby baggerman » Fri Nov 25, 2011 12:08 pm

I see this as a hard asset (same as AU, AG and real estate) and if by some miracle the dollar does not fail in my lifetime they will go to my grandkids.
baggerman
Penny Hoarding Member

Postby creshka46 » Fri Nov 25, 2011 3:54 pm

I'm separating out the uglies so I'm pretty sure I'll just scrap those when the time is right. As for the others... I'm not sure. I'll just have to see what the options are.