Nickel stat

Discussions pertaining to the investing in, collecting and saving of U.S. CuNi Nickels and Canadian Ni and CuNi Nickels, and other coins containing nickel. Put in your "5 cents" here.

Nickel stat

Postby reddirtcoins » Sat Feb 04, 2012 7:25 pm

Well, so I have been sorting nickels for about 7 months now and here is a good stat, that is if you are wondering. This is when I hit $10 of war nickels

$.15 Liberty
$1.85 buffalo
$10 of war nickels
$94.30 of pre 60's nickels.

Sorry, I never thought about keeping tabs on boxes but I easily do 2 boxes a week.
"Truth, like gold, is to be obtained not by its growth, but by washing away from it all that is not gold."- Leo Tolstoy
reddirtcoins
1000+ Penny Miser Member

Re: Nickel stat

Postby PADFH » Sat Feb 04, 2012 8:46 pm

That's a decent ratio of War Nicks to pre 1960s. I haven't found too many war nicks but that gives me hope. I've been finding one roll of pre 1960s in two bank boxes.

Do you mostly search bank boxes or CWRs?
PADFH
Penny Pincher Member

Postby reddirtcoins » Sat Feb 04, 2012 10:39 pm

99% brinks boxes... seems hard to get CWR..
"Truth, like gold, is to be obtained not by its growth, but by washing away from it all that is not gold."- Leo Tolstoy
reddirtcoins
1000+ Penny Miser Member

Postby Elcid69 » Sun Feb 05, 2012 11:43 pm

Up to now I've only been sorting CU, 10 boxes a week from my small town bank, they order them from the Fed. each week to be picked up each Wed. I have a dump bank about 20 miles away where I work. They have a counting machine & take all I have loose & deposit into my acct. The small host bank has been "begging" me to take their CWR's of nickels and other silver. I don't want to run them through my reydale. How are you sorting them , what years are you looking for and how much is the return? Any info you can share I'd appreciate. Thank you, from the Dark Corner of S>C>
Where moonshine rules and trespassers will be shot!
I want to buy " War Nickel's & Steel Pennies"