Nickel hoard

Discussions pertaining to the investing in, collecting and saving of U.S. CuNi Nickels and Canadian Ni and CuNi Nickels, and other coins containing nickel. Put in your "5 cents" here.

Nickel hoard

Postby mtldealer » Sun Nov 06, 2011 7:31 am

I have been buying a box of nickels a week for a couple months now... I have $2000 in nickels. Is there anything I should be sorting for? Or just stockpiling it? I'm a newbie, so all the help I can get is appreciated.
mtldealer
Penny Collector Member

Re: Nickel hoard

Postby NHsorter » Sun Nov 06, 2011 7:41 am

I find about 2 war nickles per box so you might have a full roll worth in your stash. You can also find .999 Canadian nickles as well. Then you would have loose coin to deal with though. You could re-roll. You'll make more $ per hour greeting people at WalMart, but I enjoy it.
“They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety” Benjamin Franklin
NHsorter
Super Post Hoarder

Postby iluc » Sun Nov 06, 2011 6:27 pm

Yeah, how much would you enjoy it as a relaxing, interesting hobby versus the opportunity cost of your time? Incidentally, I think getting those boxes is a brilliant idea. I went through a couple and had no luck getting War Nickels (which I love and bought a bunch of) or anything else.
Ian Lucas
Co-Author, Treasure Hunt in the Enchanted Forest (The Search for Good Money)
www.treasurehuntkidsbook.com
iluc
Penny Sorter Member

Postby NHsorter » Tue Nov 08, 2011 11:06 am

Got 1 war and 2 buffs in last nights box. Thinking of giving up searching nickles for a little while. I have a weekly order for 2 boxes but I think I'll just let them stack up for a while. I can fund it by dumping the piles of searched nickles that I have laying around here.
“They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety” Benjamin Franklin
NHsorter
Super Post Hoarder

Postby SoFa » Tue Nov 08, 2011 11:55 am