Seeking some opinions

This forum is for discussing hunting and collecting US and Canadian circulation Silver Bullion Coins, other types of minted bullion, and other types of precious and base metal investments other than Bullion Pennies and Nickels.

Please Note: These articles are to inform your thinking, not lead it. Only you can decide the best place for your money, and any decision you make will put your money at risk. Information or data included here may have already been overtaken by events – and must be verified elsewhere – should you choose to act on it.

Seeking some opinions

Postby mbailey1234 » Sun Jan 29, 2012 2:06 am

I was looking for somewhere to post this and figured this would be as good as any. I would appreciate some opinions, especially some "outside the box opinions."

My aunt recently passed away and my uncle is trying to decide what to do with the money from her pension as well as her 401k. I am no expert but he has been talking with me about this a lot lately. He has spoken with a couple of advisers but I get the feeling he hasn't found what he is looking for yet. I know there are some great minds on here and just wanted to throw this out there and see what you guys came up with. Never hurts hitting things from a different angle.

Here are some of the facts/opinions/ concerns we have.
She was only 62 and he will soon be 65.
He has adequate income lined up from his own retirement from social security, government pension and other investments so I don't think he is really wanting to be to aggressive for fear of losing hers.
They have one child (upper 30's) and a couple of grandkids.
The benefit can be paid out in three different ways.
1)$1270 per month for life and if something happens to him, nothing further. This isn't an option he wants to consider.
2)$1833 per month for 10 years, then it's fully depleted. If something happens to him, it goes to his kid.