Canadian silver dimes?

This forum is for discussing hunting and collecting US and Canadian circulation Silver Bullion Coins, other types of minted bullion, and other types of precious and base metal investments other than Bullion Pennies and Nickels.

Please Note: These articles are to inform your thinking, not lead it. Only you can decide the best place for your money, and any decision you make will put your money at risk. Information or data included here may have already been overtaken by events – and must be verified elsewhere – should you choose to act on it.

Canadian silver dimes?

Postby brian0918 » Thu Aug 30, 2012 11:59 am

How frequently do you US dime sorters come across Canadian silver dimes (pre-69)? I came home at lunch and popped open a few boxes, and the first one I found was a 1956 Canadian dime, 80% silver. :) I'm pretty new to dime sorting, so maybe they're common.

I don't have a Ryedale, but would it be able to pick these 80% silver ones out, if its comparing against a 90% silver US dime?
"The man who speaks to you of sacrifice, speaks of slaves and masters. And intends to be the master." -- Ayn Rand
brian0918
1000+ Penny Miser Member

Re: Canadian silver dimes?

Postby 4 bit » Fri Aug 31, 2012 10:23 pm

Over the past four months, I've found about 1 Canadian silver dime per $1,557 searched, compared with 1 U.S. silver dime per $177 searched. All but one of the Canadian silver dimes I've found have been 80% silver. The other one was 50% silver. I've yet to find a pre-1921 Canadian sterling dime. They might be more common here in northeast Ohio than elsewhere due to our proximity to the Canadian border. I've not used a Ryedale, so I don't know whether it distinguishes between a Canadian silver dime and a U.S. silver dime.
4 bit
Penny Pincher Member

Postby HPMBTT » Sat Sep 01, 2012 6:00 pm