Diamonds?

This forum is for discussing hunting and collecting US and Canadian circulation Silver Bullion Coins, other types of minted bullion, and other types of precious and base metal investments other than Bullion Pennies and Nickels.

Please Note: These articles are to inform your thinking, not lead it. Only you can decide the best place for your money, and any decision you make will put your money at risk. Information or data included here may have already been overtaken by events – and must be verified elsewhere – should you choose to act on it.

Diamonds?

Postby Hawkeye » Sat Jul 13, 2013 5:59 pm

I noticed that Provident Metals is now selling diamonds as a "bullion like" investment. I have zero experience with diamonds (other than my wife's wedding ring) and was curious about them. Does anyone know anything about their investment potential? Loose diamonds would be cool to have in a James Bond kind of way, but it is practical for an average Joe? I am going to assume that the ones on Provident aren't a great deal, but I know nothing about it.

http://www.providentmetals.com/bullion/ ... =slideshow
Metal > Paper
Hawkeye
Penny Hoarding Member

Re: Diamonds?

Postby Z00 » Sat Jul 13, 2013 7:21 pm

Grading diamonds is MUCH more subject to the individual appraiser than appraising numi coins will ever be.
My idea is that unless you are knowledgeable about assessing the quality of the stones... stick with silver or gold. At least you always know the minimum value with a scale.
“Politicians are like diapers; they need to be changed often and for the same reason.” ― Mark Twain

"America is at that awkward stage. It's too late to work within the system, but too early to shoot the bastards." -- opening lines of 101 Things To Do 'Til The Revolution by Claire Wolfe
Z00
Penny Hoarding Member

Postby Saabman » Sat Jul 13, 2013 10:53 pm

Knowing DeBeers probably not your best bet.........
Cerca Trova!!!