Buying Opportunities?

This forum is for discussing hunting and collecting US and Canadian circulation Silver Bullion Coins, other types of minted bullion, and other types of precious and base metal investments other than Bullion Pennies and Nickels.

Please Note: These articles are to inform your thinking, not lead it. Only you can decide the best place for your money, and any decision you make will put your money at risk. Information or data included here may have already been overtaken by events – and must be verified elsewhere – should you choose to act on it.

Buying Opportunities?

Postby Hawkeye » Thu Sep 23, 2010 9:13 am

I'm still fairly new to buying silver (been doing it for about a year and a half now). I don't have anywhere near the amount of silver that I would like to have and I was wondering what you all think about the current price. To be honest, it still feels like a long term "good deal" to me, even at $21/oz, but do you think we will have the opportunity to buy at $15/oz or even $16-18/oz again in the not too distant future? I still can't believe I missed the years of >$10/oz silver.
Metal > Paper
Hawkeye
Penny Hoarding Member

Re: Buying Opportunities?

Postby misteroman » Thu Sep 23, 2010 9:19 am

That's a very hard question to answer. I would say yes and yes which doesn't help at all. Basically it's buy whatever you can afford and try and get the best price possible. Put an ad on Craigslist or your local am station should have a free swap show.
misteroman
Too Busy Posting to Hoard Anything Else

Postby Lemon Thrower » Thu Sep 23, 2010 10:29 am

possible but unlikely. the price tends to dip when options and futures are closed out at the end of the month. so watch the price at the end of the month.

if you don't have as much as you'd like, you are better in the long run to buy now rather than try to save a few cents. i think long term the price will be much higher than 21. so you are risking several bucks to save maybe 50 cents imho.